Burgatory in brioche (in Greenwich)

Heaven or Hell?
Follow tweets for Burgatory

If you’re *seriously* thinking about becoming a vegetarian, keep away from Burgatory’s prime beef burgers


I often go a few days without eating meat, just because I enjoy vegetables, fish, seafood and tofu so much. Meat isn’t an essential part of a meal, or even my daily diet. So the question about whether to become vegetarian does crop up from time to time.

And eating good beef burgers like the ones from Burgatory reminds me why the answer (for me) is always no!

20130724_Burgatory_REGULARBURGER
Burgatory Classic – beef burger with caramelised onions, salad + sloppy sauces in a brioche bun

I was at Greenwich Market the other day (now a fairly upmarket, daily market in Summer, and much changed since my last visit only a couple of years ago). Inevitably, I drooled over the various food stalls (from chocolate truffles to muffins to world street food) and was finally drawn in by the fine-looking ‘natural beef burger’ creations at the Burgatory stall ranging from Β£5 to Β£7.

IMG_5632B_BURGATORY_MENU
A simply good menu

M wanted the works. And he got the works. He ended up with a bacon and 666 hybrid (all the ingredients of the bacon burger topped with the 666’s homemade chilli, lovingly concocted by the obliging stall holders).

IMG_5641b_Bacon666hybridburger
Attack! Bacon-666 hybrid burger – “I may be some time…”

IMG_5630_Burgatory
Burgatory stall at Greenwich indoor market

Burgatory is currently at Greenwich Market every day except Monday.


Foodie info:
~ Lardbutty rating: 3 / 5
~ Type: British, street food
~ Address: Greenwich Market
~ Postcode: SE10
~ Nearest station: Greenwich or Greenwich Cutty Sark (DLR)
~ Burgatory photos on flickr
~ Location: Greenwich Market + Burgatory map


					
5 Responses

  1. I love a good burger and I love Greenwich Market… Will have to give this a go next time I’m there!

  2. We dined at Burgatory in August – what a perfect messy, sloppy deLICious experience! Tried to put a review on TripAdvisor but did not have enough information to get them to accept it. DO NOT MISS this burger experience if you are anywhere near Greenwich Market – sorry, ByRon, you are bested!

    • I agree Sue B – perfectly sloppy! Shame I’m not near Greenwich today or I’d be tempted by today’s ‘limited edition portobello mushroom cooked in butter garlic thyme and cracked pepper on patty with double emmental’ ….mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

