Mangosteen (now Rosa’s Carnaby)

Update 2013: Rosa’s Carnaby Thai Cafe has replaced Mangosteen, at 23 Ganton Street


A great little restaurant off Carnaby Street in buzzing Soho, serving authentic Thai.

As I love tod mun pla (Thai fish cakes), they serve as my benchmark to measure and compare different Thai restaurants. Mangosteen’s tod mun must be one of the best in London. They’re perfectly squidgy with all the blended flavours of fish, Thai curry, lime and the crunch of green beans.

While the menu is inexpensive anyway, they offer a great value lunchtime deal comprising a main dish / curry of your choice and rice, starter portions and fruit (for around £8 – 9).

Mangosteen was a regular lunch time haunt of mine when I used to work nearby – I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve eaten here over the years and I’ve never been disappointed.

Restaurant info:
~ Lardbutty rating: 3.5 / 5
~ Type: Thai
~ Address: 23 Ganton Street, Soho, London
~ Postcode: W1F 9BW
~ Nearest station: Oxford Circus
~ Website: n/a
~ Location: Mangosteen map


Mangosteen Thai on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment